“My Masterpiece”

My 6-year-old brought home his 1st semester art project last week. He was so proud to show it to me! I’ll admit, it’s a bit abstract, but I can appreciate the creativity and work that obviously went into it, as they appear to be learning about colors and shading. I asked him to tell me about it.

“That’s our house. That’s me in the window, crying. That’s daddy in the other window. That’s you leaving.”

Gulp. “Um. Where am I going?” I asked, not sure if I wanted to know.

“To the pharmacy at Giant. It’s my masterpiece!” He said, grinning broadly.

Oh. Right. Cool. I mean, I’m a stay at home mom, whose primary profession is to be home with you, kiddo, and your masterpiece is to depict your DAD staying at home with you while I LEAVE to go to the DRUGSTORE.

It’s been a rough year. 🙂

masterpiece

Leave a Reply

