Mom: The Funeral

These were my thoughts, but they were beautifully edited by my brother. And then he read them like only he could, at the celebration of her life this past Saturday:

Mom was a very talented musician and artist, but because she didn’t see herself as such, we didn’t realize it for quite some time. She was not outspoken, and hated confrontation. She wanted to please people, and was a great friend. Once she was finished with pleasantries, you would find out that she was very funny, and her sarcasm would catch you off guard.

Our mother’s most glowing attribute as a mom is that she loved us fiercely. And I know that being a mom was her favorite job. As a child, I did not see that to be special or unusual. But now I see what a gift God gave my sister, brother and I. To be loved so fiercely lets you grow up with a unique confidence. You feel sheltered from hardship for a very long time. And you can understand the love of your Heavenly Father with ease when you have been shown such a sacrificial love.

It just seems that mothers should nurture, and I know how to because my mom did it so flawlessly. Of all her talents, I believe it to be her best gift. The comfort of her presence during sickness is something we still seek out as adults. The way she could hold us with her hands, and her rhythmic pat-pat-pats were medicinal. Those same hands could grab a “paddywacker” (a spatula) so fast your head would spin when you needed a good spanking. She moved much more slowly in the end, and she boggled us all by changing her stance on discipline when it came to her grandkids. Her most common explanation regarding them and ANYTHING they wanted to do was, “but they wanted it.” This can refer to anything from the 2 year old drinking coffee to knife juggling. Nana doesn’t say no to them. We hardly recognize her as a grandmother and we commonly refer to her house “Nanaland” for the grandkids.

My mom’s body has mistreated her sorely for most of her life. Her physical struggle was long and arduous. While missing her causes me physical pain, I comfort myself immensely with the thought of her body finally being whole in heaven. I am so grateful to God for the mother He gave us. We were blessed.
IMG_6556

Psalm 73: 23-26
Yet I am always with you, you hold me by my right hand. You guide me with your counsel, and afterward you will take me into glory. Whom have I in heaven but you? And earth has nothing I desire besides you. My flesh and my heart may fail, but God is the strength of my heart and my portion forever.

Leave a Reply

