“On Boys and Girls” aka “An Ode to Men”

From a 5 year old.

On Friday, after I picked him up from school,my little B was especially introspective. He was thinking out loud, how his dad does sometimes. It’s tricky. If I prod him along gently, then I can keep him talking, but if I act too interested or excited, I scare him off and he shuts down. What will he be like as a teenager?! On Fridays, all of his favorite girls are at pre-k, so he’s a pretty happy kid. Here’s how things were going:

B: Girls are so nice. They just are so nice how they take care of you and stuff.
Me: Oh? So you had fun with your friends at school?
B: Girls are just so sweet and boys are rock and roll.
Me: *suppressing…justeverything* um, what do you mean ‘rock and roll’?
B: *heavy sigh* (Now hes’ talking down to me because I’m so slow, I guess) Girls are just so sweet. Not sweet, like, food, sweet, like nice. And boys are rock and roll, like cool.

Well. OK.

It’s no secret in any circle that Blake has a strong appreciation for the opposite sex. He appreciates everything about girls and he is only just now figuring out how to articulate it. I wish I had the space to tell you all about the time he tried to describe a girl’s ringlets to me. He was infatuated (“the hairs just go around and around”). His Sunday school teacher has already reported some pretty bold flirting to us. And the teenage girls in the youth group do nothing but encourage him, so I have so idea how to put a stop to that.

When we got home from school that day, I asked B to tell his daddy what he told me and I was surprised to hear what went down. I actually didn’t think there was much of a lesson in there. Stu stopped B, though, and said, “Hold on! Boys aren’t just “Rock and Roll and cool (which I can’t believe we are seriously repeating)! Boys are Sweet and Nice too!” Huh. And I guess girls can be rock and roll, too. Stu went on to make sure B realized that real men were sweet and kind and gentle.

Over the weekend, I got to be reminded, in action, of all the men that B will grow up watching-to see what “real men” do. Just that very night, our house was FULL of men who came over to watch a basketball game with Stu. Those men were pretty “cool” (rock and roll? :)). And yet, one of them let B snuggle up in his lap and fall asleep there. They’re not too cool for my sweet boy:
photo1234

I was sitting in the church choir yesterday, where I have an awesome view of our church family. It sounds like a “churchy” thing to say, but let me tell you something, when I looked out at those people, I mean it when I say FAMILY. I looked out at the families that we consider to be part of US. Those men, those fathers, will be influencing our son alongside Stu. He’ll see that men can be “rock and roll” and “sweet”. And he’ll learn what that means, because the men of our church are ALL IN. He’ll see them be strong:

The Band of Brothers finishing the Warrior Dash

The Band of Brothers finishing the Warrior Dash

IMG_3764

Stu after the Warrior Dash :)

Stu after the Warrior Dash ๐Ÿ™‚

He’ll see them be silly:

The guys had no problem being ridiculous at our Thanksgiving Eve "FancyPants and Tapas" Party.

The guys had no problem being ridiculous at our Thanksgiving Eve “FancyPants and Tapas” Party.

Karaoke, Thanksgiving Eve

Karaoke, Thanksgiving Eve

And he’ll see them get down to business, like REAL MEN.

Stu and Matt, after spending the day roofing a needy  friend's house. My man is humble, but he and these men do work for people who need it on a regular basis, just to serve. It makes me so proud.

Stu and Matt, after spending the day roofing a needy friend’s house. My man is humble, but he and these men do work for people who need it on a regular basis, just to serve. It makes me so proud.

There is NOTHING more attractive than a man who is humble enough to get down on his knees and pray.

Deacon Induction (Jay, Stu, and Brian)

Deacon Induction (Jay, Stu, and Brian)

I am one proud wife and we are one blessed family. And these are just the men NEAR us. One of our “church family” families is far away and we miss them so much. Also, B comes from a legacy of great men, Texas stock, that we are so proud to be a part of.

Last week I had an opportunity to become very bitter and angry over the things that were not going well in our life. I knew I was being irrational, but it felt like the sky was falling last week. I’ve prayed that God would change my heart, renew my perspective. And now, I’ve been overwhelmed with all of this. My cup overflows. I hope that the men in our lives know how grateful we are to have them. I hope that we can invest in their precious children the way they invest in ours. I hope Stu knows how hot I think he is.

2 thoughts on ““On Boys and Girls” aka “An Ode to Men”

  1. I love this. You have so much insight. Where did it come from? ๐Ÿ™‚ I love you and wish we were a daily part of all your wisdom!.

Leave a Reply

