Today’s the Day!

The surgery is diagnostic. Laparoscopy. We’re trying to find a reason for my infertility and make sure that there aren’t any issues that would affect my health. As this date approached, I have asked myself if I was undergoing an extreme measure for the sake of fertility. Talking to the doctor yesterday, I was reminded that there are issues that could affect my fertility, but also my health. He was in great support of the procedure, and his confidence was catching. He said that during this procedure, he regularly finds “surprises” (comforting? ha). He could find anything from ovarian cancer to endemetriosis. The more common issues found and fixed during this procedure are endemetriosis, cysts, scar tissue, and adhesions. Other “surprises” that would require any more extensive surgery would not happen today. They would be discussed and dealt with at a later date. And that’s all very unlikely.

It’s an outpatient procedure, so once I prove that I can eat, drink and pee, I’ll be back home.  I’m hoping we find a problem that is fixable, and no problems that are serious.I talked about this on facebook and was humbled by the outpouring of love by my friends. I’m grateful that this is nothing serious, so many of you are dealing with so much more. Perspective is not lost on me.

Now, can we discuss fasting for a moment? There’s something about knowing I can’t eat that makes me the most revenous woman on the planet at 9am. The procedure’s not til 2:15, Stu’s going to have a long day with a very hungry woman.

🙂

2 thoughts on “Today’s the Day!

  1. I’m jealous of the long nap you’ll have after your surgery :). Is it crazy that I wish I could have at least one surgery every year (ok. six months) just for the long nap. lol. Love you. I’ll be thinking about you and the outcome.

Leave a Reply

