Coffee. Issues.

Today is the day that we will return our Keurig to Costco and tell them what I think they can do with it. I’m not even sure that they’ll take it back. I can’t blame them. I’ve done the math, and in the 6 weeks that we’ve owned it, we’ve spent over $120 in coffee!! Mind you, I’ve shopped around. That is $120 of the lowest price K cups available. ludicrous. My favorite coffee at Costco, when I was SPLURGING, used to cost us about $25 for a month’s worth. And all that ridiculous spending could maybe be justified if I had thought any of those cups of coffee were good.

We have tried all of the “strong” brands suggested. I usually combine 2 K cups of the French roast, and brew small cups, to make stronger coffee, but I’m pretty sure that at this point I’m working as hard for my coffee as I was with a coffee pot.

Stu loves the ease of the Keurig, he thinks it’s the bees knees. And as long as you don’t care that your very pricey cup of coffee resembles a mild cup of tea, it is. But if you take your coffee seriously, this is not your machine. And if I keep it any longer, I’ll have to get a job. Preferably at Starbucks.

So what do I replace it with?

5 thoughts on “Coffee. Issues.

  1. Joe and I like our coffee strong too. When we bought a new pot we got one from walmart (Hampton Beach) that brewed 10 cups, but would dispense the coffee directly to my coffee mug. I think that it is easy and much less expensive than K cups an Keurig. The best part is that you can make it as strong as you would like! Anyway hope this helps!

  2. Yep. I would have done the same thing. There is no such thing as a good strong cup of coffee from those makers. You know my vote – http://www.bedbathandbeyond.com/product.asp?SKU=16141500

    It’s still the best in town. We have a simple coffee grinder that sits next to our coffee maker. We buy french roast beans and grind them very finely and use this super amazing coffee maker that this super amazing woman gave us :). Just go get it! You can froth your own milk and never have to work at Starbucks!

  3. I’m so very said that you are getting rid of the Keurig. We stock up on K cups from Kohl’s and get an additional 30% off. Also BB&B has them and you get 20% off. (Somehow, I think you know this and it won’t sway your decision.) I have also heard of really cheap K cups at coffeecow.com and coffeeforless.com.

    Good luck finding the maker of your dreams. 🙂

  4. Pingback: I know you think YOU have real problems « View From The Hills

Leave a Reply

