The Wiggles

You can see here that I constantly compare my relationship with God to my relationship with my own child.  If he was a God who could get tired, I would probably exhaust him.

One thing I have learned by embracing my position as God’s child, is that He strongly desires time with me.  I can relate, because I want to grab my boy constantly and just squeeze him into the most obnoxious bear hug.  But, dang, he is so wiggly!!  I joke that his hugs are springloaded.  He’ll cooperate, for a moment.  I get about a tenth of a second of cuddling before he springs off of me and moves on to the next thing.  He really can’t be bothered to snuggle up to me when there are too many other exciting adventures to be had.  Oh, except when he’s hurt.  Or sick.  Then, it’s a different story.  Then, he needs my undivided attention.  He needs to be held, coddled, and loved.  For the love of Pete, I do the same thing to my Lord all the time.  Things are good, there is fun to be had, and frankly, I just can’t be bothered to sit still and pray to the God of the Universe who wants time with me. But when the going gets tough, we all want a piece of the Almighty God.  We all want to know that he will save us in the bad times.  In fact, I’ve heard many, who never seek Him otherwise, cry out, “Where is God??” “How can He let this happen?”  He’s there, He’s been wondering where YOU are.  Be careful not to accuse a God you haven’t bothered to meet of having character flaws.  Getting to know Him when the going is good really helps to understand why sometimes He allows things to go badly.  I needed that reminder this morning, as I struggled to love on my wiggly toddler.

He loves us people!!  He just wants us to love Him back.  Seriously, is this not great news??

“How great is the love that the Father has lavished on us, that we should be called children of God!” 1 John 3:1.

I saw this one the other day and it made me so happy, I had to put it on my fridge:

“The Lord your God is with you, He is mighty to save. He will take great delight in you, He will quiet you with His love, He will rejoice over you with singing.” Zephaniah 3:17

Good grief.  The Creator of Heaven and Earth rejoices over me with singing!  If that doesn’t pick up your day, I don’t know what will.

Leave a Reply

