Lisping Toddlers

“The Creator of everything stoops to hear the lisping of toddlers.” -Patsy Clairmont

This is from the book, Adventurous Prayer by Patsy Clairmont.  Those who read my blog probably know that I love this quote because 1. I have a toddler and 2. I think many of us are still spiritual toddlers.

When I wrote this, it was with that mindset.  I honestly believe that God gave us children to raise because it is the best way to understand His love for us.  Many times while disciplining my son, I have thought of my God, who has been forced to let me face my own consequences.  He must be thinking the same thing I am when I watch my own child:

“Don’t do that, Blake. Don’t touch that, it’s hot!  Blake, don’t! Sigh… well, of course it hurts, Blake. I told you not to do it. Why can’t you just listen to me?”

He gives me these guidelines, because He loves me.  And, just like we tell our kids, He clearly says in the Bible that these guidelines are to keep us safe.  Yet, like little toddlers, we wander off and choose to do things we shouldn’t, because we wanna.  More dangerously, though, is the fact that we can come up with very mature sounding rationalizations for our actions.  But I bet I still look like a toddler when I’m skipping off to do my own thing. The contrast makes me laugh. And then, just like when Blake insisted on touching the hot plate, we’re surprised when it hurts!

I also love this analogy because when Blake comes running to me for comfort, I give it to him.  It might be alongside a “don’t do that again” discussion, but he still gets it.  I can’t protect him from natural consequences, because, how else will he learn?  But just as God did for me, I can comfort him and love him anyways.  God doesn’t even say “I told you so” (as I’m sometimes inclined to do :)). Romans 8:1 says “there is no condemnation for those who are in Christ.”  This doesn’t mean there is no right and wrong.  There has to be. For our own good.  But when we come back, just like when my baby comes back to me, we always get open arms.

2 thoughts on “Lisping Toddlers

  1. Oh, Kathryn, this is such a lovely piece. I, too, am so grateful that God stoops to hear me and loves me despite my immature decisions – again and again. I am thankful beyond words to have as godly a woman as you as my friend – we can “grow up” in Him together. 🙂

  2. Pingback: The Wiggles « View From The Hills

Leave a Reply

