I can breathe clearly now…

I have mentioned the Neti-Pot several times on my facebook status, and many have wanted an explanation.  The Neti-Pot has been a life-changing experience for Stu and me.  No kidding.  We LOVE it.  I’ll start with a picture:

Don’t knock it til you try it.  Here’s a nice, brave lady on Oprah trying it:

It’s a sinus rinse.  If you have allergies, get sinus infections, or simply want to help prevents viruses from growing in your nose, then you should consider this.  It was recommended by my doctor when I was breastfeeding Blake and came down with a raging sinus infection.  I went to him hoping he would tell me to quit breastfeeding and give me some awesome antibiotics.  He told me to try the Neti-Pot.  I was skeptical to say the least.  This was way before Oprah was endorsing it.  I have terrible allergies and used to develop sinus infections 2-3 times a year.  I know which antibiotics work and how long they take, and I am not one to consult natural home remedies.  But I was reminded that I owe it to my baby to try this first.  And, I kid you not, after 2 days of Neti-Pot, I was in the clear!!  I don’t mean to gross you out, but there is something very satisfying about about watching that rainbow mucus leave your head.  I use my Neti-Pot daily now and have not developed a sinus infection in 2 years!  I finally brought Stu over to the dark side and we have both noticed a significant difference in how often we get sick.  I am, however, home with a cold right now for the first time in who-knows-how-long.  I’m hoping using it will prevent this from turning into an infection, and plus it just offers so much relief!

If you’re still freaking out about this, it’s time for you to man up and try something new.  I will call you names if you are too scared to pour some salt water through your nose.  I’m going to make you read the instructions on how to use this, but I will say that I have not mastered how rinse without holding my breath (even though it says you can breathe while doing it).  It’s not painful (unless you, like my husband, think that you can burn the mucus out with super-hot water).  Follow the instructions.

🙂

6 thoughts on “I can breathe clearly now…

  1. You turned me on to it!! Having had sinus surgery twice and being told that I have very small sinuses which are easily clogged and infected, I’m happy to say that I have been infection free since discovering the Neti pot over a year ago! I don’t do it every day, but as soon as I feel any congestion, I’m right on it!

  2. We are believers in the NeilMed system over here too- at least me and my dad are, though we prefer the bottle to the netipot… i find it REALLLY weird and uncomfortable to feel it in my palate. On breathing, I also find that on one side i’m fine, and on the other i have a hard time breathing… I think there may be a difference in the way they are oriented:) It saved me from the horrors of a cold last week(with antibiotics mind you, but it helped undo my congestion.:) Hope you’re well.

  3. I LOVE THE NETIPOT! I must admit, I was quite skeptical and avoided using it for the better part of a year, but you have changed my ways. I’m spreading the word, cause this thing is amazing!

  4. I am a broken record here but I have to say I love my neti pot! Keeping the nasal passages clear can go a loooong way toward helping w/ any ENT issues.
    I have also seen a number of people who still need additional measures after having sinus surgery. This is another case where “options” become key and many are turning to newer alternatives like balloon sinuplasty.
    Take care.

  5. This is slightly inspiring Kathryn… I have HORRIBLE allergies and I’m supposed to have sinus surgery sometime this year bc they’re allll blocked up! I have seriously owned a Neti-pot for almost three years and I still havn’t used it! I’m scared I’m gonna do it work or something is gonna go wrong. Hopefully I will try it soon, because I have horrible sinus headaches and facial pain every day/night : ( Thanks for the encouragement!

Leave a Reply

