All I want for Christmas…

…is to have my husband back home.  Luckily, that will be very soon.  I think it might be a good sign that I can’t function properly when he leaves town.  I’m good for about 1.5 days, but then my brain starts spazzing.  Example 1: I ran into my minivan head-first (see last blog).  Example 2:  I can’t seem to remember when I’m supposed to put the trash once the can is full in the kitchen. 

Example 3 comes in the form of yet another story:

This morning, I’m trying to get out the door with Blake for church.  I’m never on time, with or without Stu.  It’s a phenomenon that we can’t figure out, and can be discussed in another blog.  I’m rushing to fix my coffee and can’t find any to-go mugs clean.  I open the dishwasher, and yank out a mug.  Looks clean, and I quickly hope that I had remembered to run the dishwasher the night before.  Finally, we are on our way, and I can enjoy my coffee for a few moments.  As I sip, I feel the strangest warm sensation on my lips.  It is, at first, kind of nice in a weird way (try not to over think this).  After another couple of sips though, the sensation turns to a burn.  And quickly, the burn turns to fiery pain all over my mouth.  I begin to consider any strange medical conditions that begin with Fiery Mouth Syndrome.  I actually started to panic for a moment, the pain was so intense.   And then, I remember.  I made stuffed jalapenos yesterday.  Being the dishwashing procrastinator that I am, there were some cups in the sink when I was de-seeding some very hot peppers.  Yes, I tossed hundreds of potent little jalapeno seeds all over that mug, put it in the dishwasher, and never cleaned it.  And this, friends, is how you make Jalapeno Coffee. 

This kind of thing is just much less likely to happen when Stu is home.

2 thoughts on “All I want for Christmas…

  1. oh. my. goodness! you do need stu back! and you know, i noticed that you had a dunkin’ donuts coffee cup in sunday school today. i figured i should just offer to bring you a to-go cup from our little flavia contraption every sunday. and now i KNOW i should — no jalapeno coffee here! and i’m sorry you experienced fiery mouth syndrome — but those poppers were SO good!

Leave a Reply

