A few things I heart

Since this Weight Watchers business is all out in the open *sigh*, I figured I would show you what’s been for dinner.  Let me tell ya, it’s not half bad.  I’m already seeing the scale move in the right direction, which is encouraging.

I get 24 points a day.  I relinquish this information only because it helps to put some of these point values in perspective.  I’ve had more than a few “aha!” moments regarding my past diet, once I started calculating my favorite foods/drinks and their points.   First problem of the day: my decadent cup of coffee every morning.  I must confess that I suspected it to be problematic, but have been living in denial for quite some time.  I’ll save you the gritty details and just say that once I add my half and half and sugar to that jumbo mug, it adds up to a whopping 5 points.  Now, as long as that counts as a meal, that’s not so bad.  But it really never lasts me all the way until lunchtime, and the iced version that I had in the afternoon is probably a bit overboard.  Many of my favorite “healthy” snacks also add up in calories and fat to the equivalent of a meal, so needless to say I’m making some adjustments.  So, in search for better options, I bring you some of my new favorite things:

1. Trader Joe’s.  I spent about an hour one evening with my ridonk points calculator finding some quick and easy meals from the freezer section.  My favorite is the Bean and Corn enchiladas, 5pts.  Another was the low-fat  Chicken Chow Mein, 4pts.

2. Mahi Mahi.  I first discovered my new favorite fish while looking for ingredients for fish tacos.  Here’s the recipe I used for them. BUT note, I made 2 important adjustments.  One saved calories and thIMG_1374e other saved time (win, win!).  First, corn tortillas instead of flour.  Huge points difference.  Second, instead of making the dressing, I mixed a container of light sour cream with a jar of garlic chipotle salsa from Trader Joes.  That salsa had almost the exact same ingredients that were in the recipe.  That whole meal was about 9 points with black beans and rice pilaf, but 2 tacos alone was 5pts.  But, back to the fish.  Last night I simply grilled it with some cajun seasoning.  It’s about 2-3 points for a Mahi steak.  They came in this big bag of 9 steaks for ~$15.  Individually wrapped.

The plate on the left was Stu’s.  My serving size for beans and rice was about 1/2 this size.  The plate on the right was mine.  That was 6 points with the fish, sweet potatoes, and green beans.

fish tacosIMG_1375

Sorry if you don’t enjoy pictures of food as much as I do. 🙂

3. Skinny Cow ice-cream sandwiches.  Seriously, where have these been all my life?  Kelli touts them as actual nutrition (wink), and while I won’t go that far, it is a pretty awesome ice-cream sandwich for 2 points!

4. Vegetables.  That’s right people, I have not abandoned the idea that these are really good for you.  My favorite thing to do with a bunch of vegetables (onions, bell peppers, mushrooms, tomatoes, brocolli-the combo I favor) is cut them into bite-size chunks, and roast them in the oven on a cookie sheet with Olive Oil, salt and pepper.  If you cover the pan with foil then your only dishes are the cutting board and knife.  Careful to not overcook them.  From there we do all kinds of things with them.  Put them on a ww pita pizza, eat them in a warm pita with feta cheese and parsley, put it on pasta, salad, in an omelet.  Blake regularly finds these leftover vegetables diced up tiny in his quesadillas and grilled cheeses.  Most vegetables are no points, and the olive oil might add 1-2 points.

IMG_1380

This last one is the roasted veggies on whole wheat pasta that was seasoned with a tiny bit of olive oil, red wine vinegar, salt, oregano, feta, and garlic.  I also created my own recipe for greek-meatballs because most of them seemed too hard.  One of them asked me to mince an entire onion.  HA!  So, with a package of ground turkey I mixed a packet of Onion Soup Mix, a tad of olive oil and vinegar, 1/4 cup of feta cheese, and a sprinkle of diced mint leaves.  Roll them into balls and drop on a greased cookie sheet for about 30-40 minutes on 350.  Can you tell I’m a fan of winging it?  My problems with baking are becoming more and more apparent.  This was 11 points.

IMG_1381

The plan also builds in an extra 35 points to be used anytime that week.  My brain hurts less knowing that if I really need to indulge, I can.  And since my anniversary is this weekend, I will.  Yes, I will.

One thought on “A few things I heart

  1. Those meatballs sound delicious! Gonna have to try them out; even if they are over the allotted points. 😉 Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

