The Cereal Isle

I have a love/hate relationship with the cereal isle.  Upon my initial turn into isle, I feel a rush of exhilaration.   So many choices, so much sweet goodness, packed with nutrition (even if it is done quite unnaturally).  But soon the rush turns into complete confusion.  I buy different cereals for different reasons.

I have my luxury cereals that I eat when I want something sweet but am trying not to inhale a plate of brownies (Lucky Charms and Peanut Butter Captain Crunch being the favorites-but even in the luxury category I get very overwhelmed with choices).

Then there’s the “healthy” but still a little luxurious cereals.  These cereals contain as much sugar as my luxury cereals, but have no cartoon characters on the front, so I feel that they must be healthier (Honey Bunches of Oats, Basic 4, Banana Nut Crunch).  The “healthy” luxury cereals are tricky, because some of them have so many calories and fat that I might as well just eat the brownies.  But they have fiber, which is good, right?

Then there are the “fit to feed my child” cereals.  These are the low sugar cereals like Kix, Cheerios, Chex.

And the last cereal glitch is the price of cereal.  I refuse, refuse, refuse to buy cereal that is not on sale.  I’m pretty frugal in general, but for some reason full price cereal gets me more riled up than most items.  So even if I have found a cereal that might be acceptable, if it’s not on sale we have to go back to the drawing board again.

So I wander.  I must walk up and down the cereal isle 5-6 times.  The people working at the grocery store know to just work around me.  And here’s the funny part.  About 50%  of the time, I just leave.   Yesterday I found it so overwhelming I couldn’t take it anymore.  I left the grocery store disgusted with my poor decision-making skills.  Today, I found some at Trader Joe’s that I’m hoping will be a winner.  The cereal isle at Trader Joe’s is smaller.  That’s a good thing I think.

I have more to tell you about my grocery store visit, but it’s almost my bedtime.  You’ll have to cross your fingers that I’ll remember to follow up.

3 thoughts on “The Cereal Isle

  1. I can totally relate! In college I used to have 4 types of cereals at ALL times – breakfast, lunch, dinner and dessert cereals! It is completely ridiculous how expensive one box is these days (boy, do I feel old)…you know what my grocery store doesn’t carry anymore? The South Beach cereals! I haven’t taken the time to discover any other low-carb cereals (is that an oxy-moron?)…any suggestions?

  2. Cereal, in addition to McNuggets, are one of my very favorite types of food. My all-time favorite is Cocoa Pebbles. Of course since I have sitting behind a desk and not swinging a hammer anymore, I too have made the switch from luxury cereals to “healthy” alternatives. I eat a lot of Kashi or Cracklin Oat Bran, both of which require payment plans to afford. COB is $4.50 a box! And the box only has three bowls in it! WTH? You have to spend ten bucks just to make it through one week of breakfast only. Outrageous. Oh well, it still better than the two scrambled eggs with hot sauce and cheese and 8 pieces of bacon I have been eating every morning for a few years now.

  3. $5.45 is a steep price for a box of anything that will be gone in less than two days, but when I get a Raisin Bran Crunch craving there is absolutely nothing else to do.

Leave a Reply

