Dare I?

Dare I publicly admit that I’m about to start dieting?  Again?  There are times when I consider that secret dieting is best.  I don’t need people analyzing everything that goes in my mouth, do I?

But, in the name of commiseration and honesty, I decided to get out there with it.  This way I can whine when I’m hungry and brag when I lose weight.  This excites you, I’m sure.

I will say this: like many people, I dislike the word “diet”.  The connotation is so temporary.  And we all know that keeping weight off is the hard part.  Therefore, my first order of business has been to become a runner.  And I am!!  Every week, I have another small breakthrough in my endurance.  I’m up to 2 non-stop miles, which is pretty huge for me.  However, my theory that surely I can out-run whatever I eat is not proving successful.  I am still not losing weight.  I’ve even gained some!!  I know, muscle weighs more than fat, blahblahblah-tell it to my jeans.  So, I have reached my wall.  Something must be changed.  I have always been a fan of the South Beach Diet, and it worked for me many years ago, but frankly, I just need a little more flexibility than it offers.  I have decided join Weight Watchers.  Dumdumduuuuummm.

I like the idea of putting a point value to my food, and being able to pick how I use my food.  I think it will simply bring me back to a place where I have to think about what I eat.  And hopefully, as I become a better running, I can worry less and less about it.

All this to say, I tried to go to a meeting yesterday.  OY.  I’m funny in that I really don’t like when people get all cheery to try to motivate me.  Especially when it doesn’t feel real.  Instead, I feel patronized.  Kelli offered to keep Blake, and I really only had about an hour and a half to get to the meeting, and get back  to get him to bed.  I must have misunderstood when I should be there as a “beginner”, because they keep all their super-dieting-secrets to themselves until after the meeting, you pay up, and go to the “getting started” seminar.   Well, I didn’t have time to stay for all that.  And when I told the leader that I couldn’t stay that long (and that this information should have been more clear online), she seemed pretty annoyed.  She wouldn’t even weigh me (you should weigh people in situations like this. I likely would have simply handed her my credit card)!  I explained that I have a baby and when people have to make childcare arrangements, they deserve to understand what they’re getting into.  She then stated things must have seemed unclear on the website because I’m sleep-deprived.  This offended me.  Even if I am sleep deprived.  Which is none of her business.

So, my options were to a)refuse to join because one person annoyed me b)give Captain Smarty-Pants my sales 101 course, which might help her in the future or c)note her name and be sure I don’t attend a meeting led by her again.  I chose Option C, and will try again tonight.  There was a time in my life when I would have completely flown off the handle at that comment, so I like to consider this progress.  Maybe, since I know you are on the edge of your seat, I will give you a play-by-play  tomorrow.

For now, I’m eating some chocolate ice cream to pad my start weight.  This will make me look even more successful when I lose it.

4 thoughts on “Dare I?

  1. “Hello. My name is Kathy and I like food.”

    “Hi Kathy” (in unison)

    It would have been more funny if you would have just flown off the handle at her. I would enjoy reading that post. 🙂

    Good luck on the diet thing. I would rather sit through a Michael Moore “documentary” than diet! So you know I hate it. I just love to eat good food, and that definitely leads to disaster. So I have been trying to eat better lately. I haven’t had McNuggets in like three weeks! Sitting behind this desk instead of swinging a hammer is catching up quick.

  2. I have a friend who went on Weight Watchers a few years ago and she lost so much weight and has managed to keep it all off. They must be doing something right.

  3. Good move padding the start weight! WW and South Beach are my go-to weightloss methods. Keep us updated 🙂

  4. You are tooooo funny… That seriously cracked me up…
    You should have flown off the handle though… and put that WW nazi in check… LOL
    I made a ‘ healthy life style change’ (secret code for DIET) 1 year ago. (I guess now I really don’t have to call it a diet… I can just say “yeah..I eat healthy…what??)
    No secret I’ve stryggled with this FOREVER…
    I have done well (lost 40lbs and over 30inches and over 20% body fat)
    It just feels different this time…
    but once you get to a point you do hit a brick wall… I resently started writing things down that I eat… and realized what I had to do to ‘bump it up a knotch’
    I broke up with my long time lover (cheese)… and started to eat more fresh foods and less ‘processed’ good till 2012 foods… And I am proud to say I am over yet another ‘hump.’ You don’t need ‘her’ cheering for you…
    Pay me! I’ll do it! LOL…
    I’m sure you are such a lard a** and need to get rid of all of 5lbs… 🙂
    Yay for the running- you can KEEP that hobby- My sis-in-law does all that… why run when you have a car?? plus it makes my internal organs feel all outta whack!!
    LOL…
    Precious pics of your boys and good luck with WW and running…
    YAY!!! YOU CAN DO IT!!! GO KATHY!!! YAY!!!!

Leave a Reply

