My Keeper

Every time I study my Bible I am reminded that this is how God communicates with us.  Every time, I think, “That was amazing! Why don’t I do this ALL the time?”  I’m in a Bible study right now, which helps to keep me accountable.  Today was yet another “postcard from Heaven”-as the Pond’s like to call it.

Blake went to bed last night with a low fever, we gave him some Motrin and he slept fine.  He slept in today, which I mostly just considered a bonus.  I had time to work on my Bible study.  When I finally went to check on him at about 8:45, he was laying in bed moaning.  I grabbed him and the thermometer.  I’ve never felt him so hot.  His temp was 104!  As many can attest to, I’m not one to keep a cool head in an emergency.  It’s not that I flip out, in fact I become quite paralyzed.  I did think to give him more Motrin for the fever, but I had to call Stu so he would tell me to take him to the ER (dr’s office wasn’t open yet).  He doesn’t show any symptoms, and after some blood work and X-rays they came to the conclusion that he has some sort of viral infection.  For now I can only treat the fever.  Thank God we’ve ruled out any of the scary stuff, but it was still a shaky morning.  About halfway through all the tests, I remembered what I studied this morning and that fate and coincidence are probably not in God’s vocabulary.  I think He allowed me to read this before I got to Blake because He knew it would be my strength for today.  No matter what I go through, He always gives me strength.  This was my scripture:

I will lift my eyes to the hills

Where does my help come from?

My help comes from the Lord,

Who made heaven and earth.

He will not allow your foot to be moved;

He who keeps you will not slumber.

Behold, He who keeps Israel shall neither slumber or sleep.

The Lord is your keeper;

The Lord is your shade at your right hand.

The sun shall not strike you by day, nor the moon by night.

The Lord shall preserve you from all evil.

He shall preserve your soul.

The Lord shall preserve your going out and your coming in

From this time forth, and even forevermore.

Psalm 121

2 thoughts on “My Keeper

  1. It’s funny how that works. But it always works out like that for me as well. When we were broke after I graduated from college and couldn’t find a good job, (I know you know what I’m talking about) I would still do things like over-tip the waiters or waitresses, etc. and Lana would worry. But it never failed every time we thought we might not be able to pay this bill or that bill someone would call and have some weird job for me to do for money, like mow a yard or paint a house, whatever. It seems that the Lord always provides, no matter whether it is income, hope, good health or just guidance. I hope Blake feels better soon. I am definitely not looking forward to those days when we will inevitably have to take little Bella into the ER or Doctor’s office for a sickness or injury. We will be praying for you. We love you too!

Leave a Reply

