Do you hear what I hear?

Ding, dink, bonk, and all the little dingy noises that my computer makes all day long.  I love it!  This is the sound my computer makes when someone sends me a message.  I was thinking about that today, how my computer keeps me in touch with so many people.  I used to work with a guy who was anti-any form of communication that wasn’t face to face.  He would consent to the actual telephone, since his job required it and it seemed necessary at home in case of emergency.  We debated this alot.  He felt that technology kept people from spending quality time together.  He was adamantlyagainst the internet and cell phones (except when he was printing anti-cell phone propaganda off his work computer- hello?!).  His argument was that if he wants to talk to someone, he goes to wherever they are and talks.  Now, I used to think there was something to this idea (besides the whole, “what if you can’t just go talk to whoever you want to talk to because they live across the country or you have a job or you have a baby napping upstairs”).  Everyone’s got their head in a laptop or their cell phone these days.  So surely we are less social, right?

I think not.  I am a stay at home mom who has not left the house all day today and yet I have been in touch with my mom, sister, mother-in-law, sister-in-law, and many friends.  Thanks to facebook and blogs and email, I know how many of you are doing and feeling today.  I am in touch with childhood friends who I might have never seen again if it wasn’t for my handy-dandy laptop.  Now, I would never argue that this is a good replacement for quality time.  It is not.  It’s quick and perfunctory.  But I will argue that this is contact that I would have not been able to have at all otherwise.  I would always choose quality time.  In fact, there are several friends I have who will end a chat with, “I’m coming over”.  And those are still the best chats.

3 thoughts on “Do you hear what I hear?

  1. Technology is knife that cuts both ways when it comes to the quality of our connections. We must be aware of how we communicate and achieve balance between face to face time that we all need and the wonderful ability to quickly and effectively reach out to those near and far.

  2. my life has been blessed with technology. 🙂
    it’s just like food…you have to use it for nutrition 🙂 hee hee…
    i love chatting with you, watching my nephew grow, selling Mary Kay in my pajamas, shopping, looking up movie times and phone numbers, looking at my kids grades and what they bought at lunch time, figuring my checkbook, …..and on and on …

    i love you so much you little blog machine and your theme titles are awesome baby girl!

  3. But if we get to lazy (and heavy) to go out the door and do all our social activities through the computer, what then? We are only in the start of the computer revolution and most of us can handle it, but what about 15 years hence?

Leave a Reply

