Give it to Mikey, he’ll eat anything!

For those of you who have kids, do you know how everything seems like normal until you have something to compare it to (especially with the first one)?  Unless someone tells you where your child should be in his/her development, what you have is normal.  Well, until I got around my siblings for thanksgiving (and their kids), I didn’t realize how extraordinary my child’s eating habits are.  Granted, I think he’s going through some kind of growth spurt (Lord, help me-he’s already the size of a kindergardener with no interest in walking), so maybe that’s why he’s all of a sudden taking in so much.  But he really did take in alot of food.  He knows the signs for “more” and “eat”, and he uses them well.  I’ve also read in many places that letting kids feed themselves (finger foods) is great because they tend to simply stop eating when they’re full.  My kid usually gets cut off.  Every now and then he’ll start playing with his food and I know he’s done, but this is not until he’s had one or two more servings than I expected him to eat.  And I guess I shouldn’t be too bothered, he’s eating great stuff.  He takes his veggies like a pro and eats just about anything I whip up.

The cousins are all being forced to eat and I had to start warning them to watch their backs, because Blake was trying to pilfer everyone’s food.

img_0332

He was more successful in stealing from his daddy’s plate, who was more forgiving.

img_0285

For thanksgiving dinner he ate stuffing, squash, mashed potatoes, yams, green beans, and made great attempts at the turkey (he doesn’t do well chewing meat yet, but that doesn’t stop him from trying.  Over and over).

I’m already having to do serious shopping for him, imagine once he has ALL his teeth??

One thought on “Give it to Mikey, he’ll eat anything!

  1. I seriously laughed out loud (LOLSAM, hello) this weird, goofy guffaw when I scrolled down to the picture of Blake slyly picking food off Stu’s plate.

Leave a Reply

