Road trip!

So, I don’t think this is going to resemble the movie.  Oy, I hope not. 

The family is sick of flying.  You can see in my past blog that our latest air travels have, well, sucked.  We did the math and the last time we flew from Texas to Maryland we traveled for 11 hours.  Now we are approaching Thanksgiving and all of my siblings insist on living all over the country.  We decided to converge in Chicago this year at my brother’s family’s house and Stu and I decided that we will NOT be flying.  So, like the blissful idiots that we are, we are going to drive from Baltimore to Chicago (approx 11 hours- go figure), with a one year old.  We like to learn things the hard way.  Now, in our defense, we are leaving at 7pm next Monday, hopefully Blake’s bedtime.  My earnest desire is that he will saw logs all the way to Chicago and wake up ready to rumble.  Don’t laugh.  And if he doesn’t, I’m going to be prepared.  We are going to have toys, games, music, snacks (the kid would even get a chicken nugget if it would keep him quiet all the way), milk, chocolate milk, and most importantly, my emergency kit.  This includes the portable DVD player and the Bear in the Big Blue House DVD.  I don’t know what it is about that crazy bear, but he can mesmerize my child like nothing else on TV. 

I’m just so excited to be able to pack what I want.  Not to be at the mercy of security guards taking my lip gloss, hoping to find milk for a bottle, packing everything I need to get my hands on for 11 hours of travel in a backpack; I don’t have to weigh my luggage!!  I can bring my own food so that I don’t have to buy a $15 crappy sandwich, and a $3 bottle of water.  I love it.  Not to mention, we love our car.  It is perfect for trips like this.  We have a Honda Element, and you might think they are ugly, but they are great road trip cars.  We’ll be able to take one of the back seats out and have plenty of room for luggage, and for our handy-dandy sleeping palate.  A “palate” is what my mom used to call it when she was going to put a couple blankets on the floor and make me sleep there.  She made it sound so cool.  “Want me to fix you up a little palate for bedtime tonight??”  Anyways, yes, there is enough floor room for us lay out and sleep, which will help both of our moods.  That, and books on tape. 

And that’s the wonderful thing about family travel:  it provides you with experiences that will remain locked forever in the scar tissue of your mind.  ~Dave Barry

4 thoughts on “Road trip!

  1. As your friend, I 1.) Suggest you bring a shovel and some salt or sand. You may need it to get yourself through snow in Chicago and/or along the route 🙂 2.) Remember that 12 hour drive might be closer to 15-16 hours with traffic stops and snow! 3a.) Bring lots of blankets. 3b.) The troopers in OHIO are awful and they love to give out tickets. 4.) Tell Chicago I love it and miss it. 5.) Please eat a Portillo’s hot dog for me but don’t brag if you do!

    Also, do you have an EZ PASS? Illinois accepts it, and if you try to pay tolls with cash they charge you twice as much as they charge EZ PASS or I PASS users! I read about how you like to save money.

Leave a Reply

