Costco should pay me for this…

If you have a baby in diapers, or using formula, you should be using a wholesale store.  I fought it for awhile, because a Costco membership was $50 annually.  Now, it might be hard to plop down that initial $50, but don’t forget that that is $4.17 a month.  Their baby formula alone saved me $60 a month.  Holy cow, in the time Blake was using formula I saved $480!  Tell me that isn’t worth $50.  Let’s not get started on how badly mothers are being ripped off on formula.  I don’t know the numbers on diapers and wipes, but Stu and I think we’re saving about 40% there. 

The reason I choose to promote Costco in particular is that I LOVE their store-brand, Kirkland.  Everything I have bought that said Kirkland on it has completely exceeded my expectations, if fact, I would go so far as to say these products have been better than their name brand equivalent.  Everything.  This includes diapers, wipes, formula, milk, cheese, water, plasticware (we’re remodeling), paper towels, toilet paper, cleaning products, snacks, medicine, and on and on and on.  The produce is not only about 30-50% cheaper than the grocery store (depending on what you get), but the quality has put our grocery store to shame.  Most of their produce and meat is organic, and there are great selections.  Now I do understand that buying things like produce in bulk sounds scary, and it does have to be done thoughtfully or you end up throwing a bunch away.  But after our recent food awakening (we read In Defense of Foodby Micheal Pollan), we have decided that produce should be the bulk of our diet.  Therefore, I have gotten very creative when it comes to preparing all kinds of veggie-tastic meals (back when I got to prepare my own meals, I miss you kitchen!! Kisses!!).  Anyways, even if you don’t buy into the bulk produce thing, alot of meats can be bought in bulk and frozen. 

Hey, speaking of bulk, if you have the time to find them, many warehouses have wholesale stores.  Around here, we have Ann’s House of Nuts.  If you live around here and haven’t discovered that place then you don’t even know how sad you are to be missing out!  Trail Mixes and candy, and dried fruit and (of course) nuts for next to nothing!  Pure excitement.   

So, Costco, you totally owe me a free membership. 

If you have contributions or ideas, share them, I’ll try to incorporate them into this blog. 

If you find this topic to be boring, sorry, I tend to write about whatever is taking up the most of my time.  And right now, you’re looking at it!  🙂

4 thoughts on “Costco should pay me for this…

  1. Well, well, well, Kathy. It seems as though Maryland has started to rub off on you. With all of the organic produce and veggie-tastic meals, and the trail-mixes and such I am looking forward to the family Christmas card complete with the whole family standing in front of your own organic garden with hemp clothing, organic makeup and Birkenstocks (with socks). 🙂 Love ya!

  2. You forgot to mention the gas savings! Generally $0.20 per gallon over regular gas stations around town. Since I don’t have to buy diapers and formula (yay!), I think that the gas savings is the biggest membership-worthy feature for me!

  3. OMIGOSH, we filled up last night for $22! It was $1.90 at Costco and then we passed a couple other places on the way home where gas was $2.40. Whoa with the ripping people off EXXON.

    And Christopher, you’re right, with diabetes, heart disease, and obesity running rampant in our country, changing things would be silly. Our current diet apprears to be serving us marvelously. Read the book, “In Defense of Food”. Unless you’re too scaredy scaredy. And don’t be silly, I might be getting healthier, but hopefully not uglier. Birkinstocks?

  4. I was just giving you a hard time. I am the first one to say that this country is very very unhealthy. Organic food and natural remedies and more vegetables instead of the BK triple stack is way better for us. Hell, half the time I don’t even take normal medicines because there is something weird about taking a pill for EVERYTHING. The body has a natural chemistry and I just done think we have understood the FULL effects of all of these different drugs. Anyway, you know we love ya and hope y’all are doing great!

Leave a Reply

